Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Aftermarket Seats for a Gen 1 Brat?

Does anyone know of any aftermarket seats that will fit a 1978 Brat? Mine are toast and need to be replaced. I have some experience in upholstering, but after really looking, they may be a bit out of my league. Any help is appreciated, especially if you have changed yours out with modifications.

Thanks!

Mary

I can make anything fit, just gimme a welder and a cutting torch:D No Aftermarket seats won't bolt right in but if you had brackets made, they would. What kind of seat are you look at putting it? I might be able to help out and make the brackets for ya and ship them to you for very reasonable. My Brat has nothing left in it so it wouldn't be a problem for me to make them without having to pull the seats:D

I can make anything fit, just gimme a welder and a cutting torch:D No Aftermarket seats won't bolt right in but if you had brackets made, they would. What kind of seat are you look at putting it? I might be able to help out and make the brackets for ya and ship them to you for very reasonable. My Brat has nothing left in it so it wouldn't be a problem for me to make them without having to pull the seats:D

That'll work... when I get the Brat back, it's at the VoTech having the tranny installed. I'll measure the seats and see what's available in late-model junks at the bone yard and let you know. The upholstery man will want an arm and leg to redo the seats, the innards are a bit worn... (Adam Sandler's "Ode to My Car" describes them pretty well). I'm getting prices of $400 and UP to redo the dash, a new reproduction is $600. Yikes!

Ohh! Who redoes dashes and what exaclty do they do to them? I'm figuring there has to be something out there we can do ourselves to repair dashes.

I'm gonna try mounting a pair of SVX seats in my 78, We'll see how that goes.:)