Ultimate Subaru Message Board

need to get more MPG in my '96 Legacy L 2.2 Liter w/ auto trans

What kind of mileage / miles per gallon / MPG are others getting in Legacy L's with the standard 2.2 liter engine and automatic transmission?

I don't think I've gotten more than 22 MPG with it, even on trips. I attributed its low mileage to the trans and the AWD, and I know I carry more weight (tools) in it than is good for mileage, but with gas prices over $3.00/gal, I'd really like to get more MPG.

Is this typical? Besides having the tires fully pumped up, what other tinkering could I do to it to up the mileage?

Thanks in advance,

~ Bright1

I'm not an expert by any stretch, but I just got 28 Mpg mixed on my 2.2 L auto ... best tank ever after 110k.

The only difference was that i got the car seriously tuned up -- replaced plugs, PCV valve, etc. I also drive like a grandma.

I get about 24 in my '95 Legacy. I think it depends a lot on how you drive, where you drive, and the condition of the engine. I think the pre-solid lifters 2.2's (before 1997) don't get quite as good of mileage either. That's based on my experience in my own family. My mom's and dad's are '97 and '98 and their mileage is much higher, even if I drive their cars.

Brian

What kind of mileage / miles per gallon / MPG are others getting in Legacy L's with the standard 2.2 liter engine and automatic transmission?

I don't think I've gotten more than 22 MPG with it, even on trips. I attributed its low mileage to the trans and the AWD, and I know I carry more weight (tools) in it than is good for mileage, but with gas prices over $3.00/gal, I'd really like to get more MPG.

Is this typical? Besides having the tires fully pumped up, what other tinkering could I do to it to up the mileage?

Thanks in advance,

~ Bright1