Ultimate Subaru Message Board

EA82 5sp into GL-10

Jub Nub

i have a 1987 gl-10 wagon with autmatic trans, electronic 4wheel drive. I want to put a five speed with manual high/low 4wheel out of a 1985 gl. theyre both EA82 so it should be cake, right? I am new at this so any help would be great! thanx

I changed over an auto 3-speed to a d/r manual recently and it is fairly straightforward. Check the rear differential on both to make sure that you have the same gear ratios - 3.9 for non-turbo or 3.7 for turbo.

Search through the Older Generation forum for details.

Drain the fluid in both trans before removing.

It looks hard, but it is easy to remove the steering column to change out the pedal assembly. You don't need to remove the collar around the steering column near the firewall. When reassembling, put the steering column in without worring about hooking up the double u-jointer that goes to the steering rack - remove the lower bolt for the necessary play to install the other end on the steerng column.

You'll likely have to change the spedometer cable. Taking off the dash is lots of fun - paractice on the donor car first.

You'll need to put a little electrical jumper to bypass the neutral start.

Wiring up the back-up lights is a little tricky, pm me if you have a problem

Need to use the longer driveshaft from the manual donor car.

Take your time, if possible.

No need to remove the dash to change the speedo cable. I've done it to a three door. Just remove the lower kick panel, follow where the speedo cable enters the firewall up to the back of the dash, and pull.

You'll need the axles from the manual.

If he's going from 3AT to NA manual, the axles are the same. No need to swap.

• 7 months later...