Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Hey,

I have a 1993 subaru impreza and when I started it just now, it turned on for a second and shut off immediately. It will not idle at all unless I step on the gas. I think it may be something with the fuel injection but im not sure. I bought some fuel injection cleaner and put it into the gas tank but that didnt do anything to help the situation. Does anyone have any knowledge on what is causing this and how to fix it? I would greatly appreciate any comment's on this topic. Hope to hear from you soon cause I can't be with out a car for long!!!

The lights do come on after the car stalls out. Where is the fuel filter located? Can I get that at the auto part store? Sorry for my ignorance I am new to all this but need to get my car back up and running asap! Thanks again for all your help!!

The fuel filter is in a round canister about the size of a soup can on the driver's side, behind the battery. There should be...I think 3 hoses...connected to it. Any auto parts store should have the filter. The CEL should always be on if the car is not running but switch is on. Still wouldn't hurt to check the codes, though.

Hey sorry to bother you again but I was wondering what you meant by this "The CEL should always be on if the car is not running but switch is on. Still wouldn't hurt to check the codes, though."

Is there a certain code I should be aware of electrically?

Check and make sure the big vacum line that goes to the Idle air control valve is connected. You will find one end under the air filter tube.

Hey sorry to bother you again but I was wondering what you meant by this "The CEL should always be on if the car is not running but switch is on. Still wouldn't hurt to check the codes, though."