Ultimate Subaru Message Board

So can 96-98 Legacy driveshaft u-joints be replaced?

Factory configuration is that the driveshaft u-joints are non-replaceable and requires replacing the shaft assembly.

But it seems like the u-joints could be machined or cut out and replaced with a more conventional u-joint. Rather than buying a $700-$1000 shaft assembly, has anyone had u-joints replaced for considerably less?

Rockford Drive Line makes replacement u-joints for Subaru and others with "non-replacable" u-joints:

http://www.rockforddriveline.com/replacem.htm

I have zero experience with this, just something I came across one day and bookmarked it in case I needed it.

Do a search as there was an exentisive thread on this subject, and that supplier. On Early subarus it works, on later ones it doesnt seem to, as there is no reference point to know when the joints are centered and balanced.

Trust me I would be the first one to say do it in your driveway if it was possible.

nipper

Do a search as there was an exentisive thread on this subject, and that supplier. On Early subarus it works, on later ones it doesnt seem to, as there is no reference point to know when the joints are centered and balanced.

Trust me I would be the first one to say do it in your driveway if it was possible.

Well that stinks. I guess the only reasonable way is to have a drive shaft shop do it.

I wonder, what is the point of using staked-in u-joints vs. the normal kind that are held in with clips?

i'd do a search like nipper said. i've had good luck replacing the older gen stuff, but never had to do a newer gen yet (unlike HEEPS which i work on far, far less). if i did, i would look into replacing them with greaseable joints. including parts you can have all the ujoints replaced for about $200. $100 in parts and $100 in labor when i've had it done.