Ultimate Subaru Message Board

NOS what do you think?

nitrous...

i was thinking that our little subarus NA might be able to handle some.... i was thinking somthing along the lines of a 35hp shot of course a wet set up..

anyway what do you think........

A 35hp shot is not going to be much fun. It's not worth it.

I have some experience w/nitrous and drag racing. I have personally never saw a dry kit not run lean. A wet kit is definately the way to go. It seems that FI motors respond better that carb motors (my personal experience). IIRC, NOS and Nitrous Express HP numbers are based on a 350ci engine. A cheap way to to determine air/fuel mixture is to read directly off of an O2 sensor with a voltmeter. If you are serious about running nitrous I would recommend reading a book or two on the subject (very good stuff!), Summit Racing has several. NO2 is very fun, but be considerate of you pistons (particularly if they are hypereutetic). A friend of mine and I ended up rebuilding his LT1 after breaking a ring land. After that, we tried to educate ourselves. The car turned out better in the end (350HP, 400ft-lbs w/o; 460HP, 585ft-lbs with), after we knew more.

A cheap way to to determine air/fuel mixture is to read directly off of an O2 sensor with a voltmeter.
Agreed! I am using a Jumptronix digital air/fuel ratio meter for keeping track of the O2 sensor's voltage.

http://www.jumptronix.com/whatsnew.htm

I'm not sure if that site is down or the pics just aren't coming up. It's possible it's not being sold anymore. If that is so, that's too bad. I really like that air/fuel ratio gauge. It has a switch on the back of it also so you can read battery voltage.

That's odd! My ER27 hated it. Always ran too lean using a 50hp shot of Zex DRY nitrous. EGT's would shoot over 1600F so I'd shutdown. ??
maybe that was you problem? just a guess thou

and subaruBrat, does this mean you have ran nos on yours? (er27)

dry Nos= BAD IDEA. nos needs fuel