Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Clutch replacement - newbie job or no?

My '98 Impreza will need a new clutch in the near future. The summer is a good time for me to do it as I'm a teacher and when the school year starts again I'll be pretty busy.

I've never done it before and will be learning from scratch. I'm a quick study and with a decent manual can do anything that can be done by following a step-by-step procedure.

Do you guys think it's worth it for me to attempt this myself, or is this job difficult enough for a first-timer that I'm better off going to a shop?

How much would a shop charge, anyway?

My '98 Impreza will need a new clutch in the near future. The summer is a good time for me to do it as I'm a teacher and when the school year starts again I'll be pretty busy.

I've never done it before and will be learning from scratch. I'm a quick study and with a decent manual can do anything that can be done by following a step-by-step procedure.

Do you guys think it's worth it for me to attempt this myself, or is this job difficult enough for a first-timer that I'm better off going to a shop?

What do you own in the way of tools, and what are you willing to buy?

I did a clutch as my first "big" job (did a timing belt before that), and yanked the engine in my parent's garage with a rented lift. If you have a good rachet set and air tools, it's just a matter of carefully taking stuff off, labeling everything, and then pounding angrily at the engine and transmission because they won't separate...

Short of doing machine work, most "car stuff" doesn't require technical skill so much as patience, intelligence, and the ability to figure out what your (possibly inaccurate) shop manual is telling you to do.

You will need space and time, above all- a good garage and a 2-5 solid days, depending on how things go.