Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Weird knocking and vibration from front end on 93 loyale

I have a weird problem on my 93 loyale with a 5 speed, it has a knocking sound and bad viiberation in the steering wheel and whole car for that matter that comes and goes. It never does it when it's cold only after about 10 miles of driving. It starts small and gets worse the farther you drive.  It hammers under acceleration, but is smooth when coasting  and it's much worse turning to the left. The sound is coming from the drivers front near as I can tell. I have replace the drivers side axle and wheel bearings and did the pass wheel bearing about a year ago as well as the axle. I can't see or feel anything wrong with the front end any where, tie rods are tight and I don't feel any bad ball joints. It sounds and feels like a axle that is out of balance to me, but they both seem fine by looking. They seam a little loose on the tranny splines though,  Any thoughts? I'm a pretty good mechanic and this has me stumped. Any chance it's the tranny?

Come on guys any good ideas as to whats going on here? I know the differance between a motor miss and the whole car shaking from something out of balance. I jacked up the car and ran it in gear and it will not make the viberation unless it is under a load. It is drivetrain related as it increases with tire speed, not engine speed.  It shakes the car very hard to where it is undriveable. It does it in 2 or 4 wheel drive as well. I just dont get it, I thought sure it was an axle problem.

You may have gotten a bad axle out of the box. Horror stories all over about that.

You could swap them and see if it changes anything before dropping coin on another one.

Good luck.

Dan

Hey Dan

I would have a hard time believing that this new axle (wrecking yard axle) would do that exact same thing as the old one did. I replaced all that stuff to try to fix this problem. I'm not putting in new parts till i figure out what the problem is.