Ultimate Subaru Message Board

HELP - car wont start

Hi all. I have an 87 GL two-wheel drive / manual / non-turbo that I need to have looked at. It won’t start. I’m a poor college student and need to have it running in the fall when school starts again (Sept. 18) it hasn’t been running for about 6 months now so iv been riding the bus but when school starts I wont be able to ride the bus to/from school so alas I need to get the ol’ subbie running again. I don’t suspect its anything too major but then again I have no idea. As I said before I’m a poor college student so I would be looking for someone who would come look at it for free. Ill probably be able to pay for parts (assuming its not something too major) I’m not completely useless mechanically but I just haven’t been able to figure out what’s wrong with her. I love this car to death. Its ugly, its loud, its clean, its my baby. Please help.:)

cleanunderhoodgood2.jpg

* Stuff i forgot to include...

I parked it one day and the next morning i saw that it had been broken into and they stole my stereo and iPod. When i tried to start it it wouldnt start. I thought it might be a fuse from when they ripped out the stereo but they were all fine.

I live in Lynnwood Washington. Thats where the car is parked.

Well, I'm in New York so I can't come help, but I am from the 206 so I'll throw you a bone.

You said the car has been sitting. Is the battery still OK? When you turn the key in the ignition does anything occur? i.e. dash lights come on or dim, engine turns over but does not start, solenoid clicks but engine doesn't turn.

When they broke in have you checked for other damage, maybe they tried to steal the car?

Get back with a report on the battery and answers for above q's.

Good luck

More info would be very useful. What *exactly* does it do when you try to start it?

Does the horn work? The ECU is on a fuse with the horn, and if that fuse is blown, the car won't run.