Ultimate Subaru Message Board

EA82T into a EA82 loyale?

I'm new to subaru's so go easy on me.

Recently I've been having some issues with my EA82 and am looking into replacing it. I have found a good deal on some EA82T's with low miles, and had some questions about this swap. I'm sure internally they will be different, like rings, pistons and etc. But...

Are the long blocks even the same?

Are the blocks externally the same, and do they use all the same hardware (eg. power steering, a/c, and belt set-up)?

Is the wiring a "plug and play" deal, or is it a large amount of wiring?

• Replies 59
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Before others chime in i will, and ill be nice.

The ea82t wasnt the best motor for performance and hp. And buy designe there are headgasket problems, alot of them. If your wanting to upgrade then the ejswap is the easer and better way to go. Bigger aftermarket following for that engine. Very reliable and indestructable ej22. The hardest part about the engine swap is the wireing harness. They make adaptors that would bolt up to the trans you have. Check out the search function and do some checking. They have many many wrightups, full of many many wonderful things.:lol: Trust me, the ea82t is only going to gain you about 15 to 20hp. VS the EJ swap which will net you almost 50hp and loads of torque.

if i remember correctly, the block is the same.. just the heads are what set it differently. that and of course the turbo, exhaust, and intake design but physically, it will fit no problem. If i was in your position though, i would do the EJ swap. you are pulling the engine out anyway.

-Justin

you would be much better off to fix/replace the engine you have. the turbo is unreliable and not really that much more horsepower. i mean it is an it is nice compared to the EA82's, but the EA82T is an annoying motor.