Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Once collapsed always collapsed?

Love my soob, hate that freakin tick. I've come to the conclusion that the tick isn't a lifter, my subaru just deep down inside wants to be a diesel :-\.

All kidding aside, every since I put this used engine in my 89 dl non turbo, its ticked, good compression 170-175 across the board, but it ticks, not all the time, sometimes louder one day than the next. I've replaced the "mickey mouse" gasket/ring whatever. And no difference, i've tried different additives for oil, and for flushing, nada. Haven't tried seafoam yet, but thats next.

Someone suggested a collapsed lifter. I'm no mechanic, nor genius. But if it were a collapsed lifter, wouldn't the tick be constant, and never go away?

Also heard that the timing could be off, really don't understand how that would affect it...but ? It could certainly explain the pinging i get going up a hill, or on flat ground if i'm not running in a lower gear than I should need to.

Sort out that timing soon as unless you like to repair engine internals pinging is after all damageing and I have seen rings broken from just that issue being ignored by a customer once..

So what is pinging when the Timing is off? Thats the onlything I've never known.. Mine is fine, but I'd like more knowledge.

-Tom :)

Excuse my ignorance, but I have only heard this "tick of death" in videos on the forum. Could someone explain to me in a bit more detail as to what it is, what is causeing it, etc. To me it sounds like valve lash.

I have heard ticking valves befor on SBC engines, 307's mainly. And it was a valve bridge that was causing the noise. I would imagine that Subaru doesnt use such flim flam technology, but I thought I would ask..

I've heard of it referred to as the "tick of death" as well. I can't explain in great detail the internal workings of an EA82 or any other engine for that matter, LOL thats why I love this forum, because of the gurus that can.