Ultimate Subaru Message Board

What year wagon?

TweedleDee

I'm a complete noob when it comes to Subarus, so bear with me. I am interested in getting an old Subaru wagon as the family car to go on vacations/camping with my wife and 2 kids. I would like to hear opinions on the best year and model to get. I'm mainly interested in "easy to work on", cheap to buy, available parts/hop-ups, and light off-road abilities. I like the look of the 1982-1984 models and my understanding is that these are true 4x4 as opposed to all wheel drive. Are these 5 speed as well? Any opinions?

Alan

For the family and trips, you might want to look into a EA82. Something in the Years of 85-87 would be good as they mostly came with 5spd and Dual Range 4WD. Thats FWD, 4WDHI & 4WD LOW. 80-84 models came with 4speed Dual ranges, but they dont have as much room. Plus there are alot more comforts available to the EA82 like power steering that will make for easy drives.

The EA82 is alittle more high maitenance than the EA81, as it has timing belts. But regular oil changes and maitenance will keep the car on the road for hundreds of thousands of miles. Or offroad for that matter.

-Brian

Welcome!

'80-84 4WD wagons are 1600 and 1800 ohv engines.

'80-84 come as 4 speed single and dual range as well as a 3sp auto with push button 4wd. 5 sp dual range transmissions can be added but requires some fab work. Upgrades for these include Weber carbs, improved exhaust, cams and larger wheels/tires(Peugoet wheels or by redrilling 6 lug truck wheels)

In stock form these have about 73hp

'85-94 4wd/AWDwagons are ohc engines.

These come with 5sp push botton single range, 5sp dual range, 3sp auto with push button. Dual range 4WD tansmissions ended in 1988 I believe. Any '85-94 can be changed over to the dual range tranny. Upgrades for these include Weber, cams, bigger exhaust, larger wheels.

In stock form the carbed model had about 83hp.