Ultimate Subaru Message Board

noob to subaru's

Well i picked up a 1983 Subaru GL 5-door for free today. Traded my 1988 f-250 for it. The truck wasn't running because of a clutch issue and the fact that i don't have the time to fix it.

So far I'm pretty happy with it, just wondering what things to watch out for with these cars. And since i have no previous experience with these cars, what do the codes i've been seeing on the boards mean? i.e. ea81 or whatever it is.

i only have one picture of it right now and its not a glamorous shot, so i'll get some better pics up tomorrow after i get out of class.

EA81 refers to the engine - and also reveals much about the chassis and other parts as well. Someone else will probably have a more eloquent explanation than i can come up with right now.

The designations do represent the displacement of the engine. For example the newer vehicles have EJ25 - which are 2.5 liter engines. Your EA81 is a 1.8 liter, not sure why they dropped the one or it's backwards like that, but the 8 is a reference to engine size.

The EA81 is a neat little beast - no timing belts!

Well i picked up a 1983 Subaru GL 5-door for free today. Traded my 1988 f-250 for it. The truck wasn't running because of a clutch issue and the fact that i don't have the time to fix it.

So far I'm pretty happy with it, just wondering what things to watch out for with these cars. And since i have no previous experience with these cars, what do the codes i've been seeing on the boards mean? i.e. ea81 or whatever it is.

i only have one picture of it right now and its not a glamorous shot, so i'll get some better pics up tomorrow after i get out of class.

Welcome to the board!