Ultimate Subaru Message Board

another blown hg

well i'm almost 100% sure that it is a blown hg, but i don't seem to be down on power. ther is a high pressure leak that you can see and hear, but it keeps going for like 5 to 10 minutes after you turn the car off. is there any way i can tell if it is a blown hg and or a cracked head? without pulling the head off. how much should i look to pay to have a hg replace. i know i guy that works on forgien cars and i was going to try and make a deal with him since i'm a painter. sorry its so long

yeah its overheating but not going in to the red just outside of it. whats leaking is water and air, i would say its about 60 psi(thats just a guess) and it keeps going after i turn the car off. i don't see any thing in the water or oil. the leak is below the lines running to the heater core. there is also a lot of pressure in the raditor hose on the passenger side.

Well, it sounds like you have a pinhole leak in one of the heater hoses. The best way to find it get it hot then take a flashlight and see if you can figure out which one it is.

yeah your right it was a pinhole in the heater hose. i thought for sure that i was coming from the block. i im still haveing over heating problems, well not all the way but getting really hot. i can kind of feel cold spots on the rad. thanks for all the help.

what is a re-core never heard of it.

Young uns!!!

Generically, turbone meant a new radiator. Once upon a time, rather than get a whole new radiator, radiator shops whould remove the inlet and outlet tanks and solder them on to a new radiator "core". Nowadays, radiators are throw away items and the complete radiators come in boxes.