Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Just wondering if anyone has some tips on driving through deep snow?

How much can you expect to be able to navigate through in a Suby Legacy L?

This is my first year with my new Suby in the country, and my driveway is pretty long (600ft). It's not unusual to come home to have it snowed in after a day at work. How deep is too deep?....when do you say no, and when do you say GO! How do you handle drifts?

Ok, second question.....Nokian Hakka 2's, or RSI's for best tread life, variable driving conditions, and long commutes??

Cheers,

UC

Basically like any other car, only ours dont get stuck. If the snow is deep enougs and packed, i imagine the car may get stuck. Be more concerned about stopping.

Here in NY i have had no problem with 2 feet of unplowed snow on the streets.

nipper

Ok, second question.....Nokian Hakka 2's, or RSI's for best tread life, variable driving conditions, and long commutes??

I would hesitate to go through snow that's much deeper than your ground clearance - these cars aren't plows :-) If it's light and powdery, you could do more snow.

I used a set of Nokian RSI's last year on my wife's Saab 9-5. They were astonishingly good, quiet on the highway, made 6" of fresh snow feel like dry ground. I wouldn't hesitate to get them if you're not going to stud 'em.

My wife has used our 98 Right Hand drive legacy to deliver mail. she has plenty of times had to "plow" snow along the side of the road to get to mail boxes. One problem we did have was thowe little plastic inserts (cooling vents?) in the front facia. The snow would push them in. these were just normally popped into place. A drill and a couple of screws solved that problem. Once those were pushed in though, the inner plastic fendewr well would fill with snow and push down on the tire..................actually had one come off!

swi66